Be Inspired and Motivated

”Be not afraid of greatness. Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon ‘em.” – William Shakespeare

The Greatest Salesman in the World

The Greatest Salesman in the World” written by – OG MANDINO

A definite read for those of you who seek a deeper way to live and think.  It will motivate you and help you understand why only a few are successful in life!  Here are the steps that the book encourages you to do.  Don’t wait until tomorrow to make changes.

1:  Today, I begin a new life.  I will shed my past……I will form good habits everyday and become their slave.

2. I will greet each day with love in my heart.  I will love the ambitious for they can inspire me; I will love the failures for they can teach me.  React only in love.

3. I will persist until I succeed.   Each obstacle I will consider as a mere detour to my goal and a challenge to my profession.

4. I am nature’s greatest miracle.  None that came before, none that live today, and none that come tomorrow can walk or talk and move and think like me.  I am unique.

5. I will live this day as if it is my last.  I will waste not a moment mourning yesterday’s misfortunes, yesterday’s defeat’s or yesterday’s aches of the heart.

6. Today I will master my emotions.  Yesterday’s joy will become today’s sadness; yet today’s sadness will grow into tomorrow’s joy.  If I feel insignificant, I will remember my goals.

7.  I will laugh at the world.  No living creature, can laugh but man.   I will laugh at myself and with laughter all things will be reduced to their proper size.

8.  Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold.  I will set goals for the day, the week, the month, the year and my life.  I will always strive to make the next hour, better than this one.

9.  I will act now.  Lest I act I will perish in a life of failure, misery and sleepless nights.  Success will not wait.

10. I will have faith.  Only for guidance will I pray, that I may be shown how to acquire what it is that I need.

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.” – Robert Louis Stevenson.

9 thoughts on “Be Inspired and Motivated

  1. This is from feedback on Tiny Buddha by Fiona C • 13 days ago

    Hi Karen thank you for your post. I lost my firstborn son James at 2days old 22 years ago this July. I remember feeling like I was trudging through a fog and a thick mire. At one point I decided just to do one day at a time. For various reasons I would not have looked at yoga practice or counselling during that time I was part of a religion which had very negative views of such things. I was raised in that religion so the teachings were well ensconced. I did go on to have another son the following year and he will be 21 this year. Sadly his dad, my former husband and the father of both my boys died very unexpectedly last year in quite a traumatic way. I have grieved my ex husband although we were both remarried and it has made me lose my way ……. So now religion free I am gratefully looking for all words of wisdom and guidance I can find in dealing with the stress and anxiety I find myself experiencing. Your post really hit home to me and I am going to look at yoga practice to help me. There is so much more I could write about why this hit home for me but again I would just look like to say thank you for taking the time to write about such a painful subject to you. Good things, peace and live to you and yours.

  2. Renee • 12 days ago comment from my post on Tiny Buddha

    Wow, this really did bring tears to my eyes. I am so incredibly in awe of your strength in writing about your journey. I have no doubt it will help others through their grieving. Thank you.

  3. minhazz • 5 days ago comment from Tiny Buddha

    A beautifully written article which will give comfort to many ..thank you for sharing

  4. Bobbi Emel • 10 days ago Comment

    Karen, thanks so much for sharing this very intimate story. I’m so sorry for your loss. But your words will help not only those who mourn, but those who seek to comfort the mourners as well. Bless you on your journey!

  5. Megan Grace-Hughes • 12 days ago comment

    Hi Karen, This post really resonated with me. I lost my father and brother 2 1/2 years & 2 years (respectively) ago both very suddenly. It’s taken time and major life changes (I’m now training to be a counsellor) to allow me to accept my grief and work with it. My sadness will always be there but I also feel the joy that they brought into my life whilst I had them.

    My yoga practice and meditation has changed my life significantly. I feel like a different person. And now as I embark on a new career I do so in my their name and memory.

    Thanks for sharing your experiences, I’m sure it will help a great deal of people.

    Megan x

  6. andy • 12 days ago

    It’s wonderful when something so awful gradually becomes something positive. It’s hard to explain, but feeling grateful for the time you had with someone now gone, becomes a gift from them. I lost my dear mother just 3 weeks ago and although I’m still very ‘upset’ I feel that by doing everything I possibly could to care for her has brought me acceptance quickly and allowed me to sidestep the guilt feelings that consume so many. I love my mum so much and refused to ‘look away’ from her illness and eventual death. I held her hand and told her how thankful I was to have had her as my mother as she passed away. Now, gratitude is as common a feeling as dread once was and I know I’ll always be able to share special moments with her for the rest of my life. Real love doesn’t want anything in return and utter acceptance of what has happened is like being able to turn the light on in a dark and lonely room.

  7. Vishnu • 13 days ago

    Sorry to hear about these tragic circumstances Karen – very brave of you to share your story here. Can’t imagine losing a child at such a young age. Your journey to forgive, find strength and move on is inspiring. What a powerful thought that finding happiness for ourselves after the loss of a loved one is a gift for your loved one who’s gone. That’s one big motivation to seek happiness in our lives again.

    Thanks again for sharing.

Leave a Reply

