Presence

“Always say “yes” to the present moment.  Surrender to what is. Say “yes” to life — and see how life suddenly starts working for you rather than against you.” – Eckhart Tolle

I find the state of being present sometimes difficult to comprehend and practice.  I have come to realise if I want to fully embrace this moment and to know that this is all there is, then I cannot be in my mind.

For our ego and our thoughts and busy mind to survive, it must make time – past and future – more important than this present moment.  Our Ego, cannot tolerate being present with this moment.  So in order for us to understand what it means to be present, it means that we accept exactly where we are and for there to be no wanting whatsoever.

How often are we able to be in that state?  For me who has a very busy mind, I’m sure it’s not very often and yet I know when I ask myself, “Are you present?” I remember to connect to my heart space and listen more attentively and to speak and think less.

“Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it.”  – Eckhart Tolle

Like everything that changes in my life, I have had to learn to do things differently otherwise I cannot move forward.  Life is stressful when I am thinking about what needs to be done tomorrow or next week, life is stressful when I create fear about situations that may not happen.

When I am present with this moment I learn to focus, accept and be the best I can be. It allows life to happen rather than me trying to control everybody and everything.

We live in a society of wanting.  “I want a new relationship” ” I want more money” “I want I new job” I want a bigger home” “I want others to change” and while we are wanting and searching for more, we lose sight of what we already have and forget to see and feel this beautiful presence that is always here to connect to.

So how can I practice to be “Present?”

1. Practice Stillness.  When you allow stillness and silence in your day through meditation or yoga or just being, you will begin to feel and understand “presence.”

2. Become aware of the stories you create with your thoughts.  Notice how often you spend thinking about your past or future stories and allow your mind to let go and detach.

3. Practice being aware of your surroundings and you environment.  See how Mother Nature continues to change and allow without effort, without stress.

4. Accept every situation you are in just as it is.  Do not create judgement or fear about what is happening,  just accept it completely.

5. When you are with someone, be completely present to them and listen.  Become aware of thoughts coming in but let them go. (This takes practice!)

I have really noticed becoming present helps me to feel calm and allow life to unfold exactly as it should.  Let me know what helps you to be present each day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

