Our Inner Jewel

Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if only one remembers to turn on the light.

A woman whose husband died unexpectedly faced dire circumstances. Creditors hounded her, taking everything away from her and her young son. Fearing she might lose the most valuable possession of the family, she hid the priceless jewel that had been handed down for generations by sowing it into the sleeve of an old coat that the creditors would never want. The troubles weighed on her grief and eventually broke her spirit and she died without ever telling her son about the jewel.

The boy found himself without family or home, his only inheritance the old threadbare coat that the creditors left him. He found work wherever he could, staying in barns or out in the forest, exposed to the elements and grave hardship. Filled with sorrow at his fate, he endured the passing years with an abiding belief in the unfairness of life.

One day, as he was chopping wood, his sleeve caught on a branch and tore open. Out spilled the priceless jewel onto the ground before him!

http://williamdouglashorden.com/

This story has a few lessons for me.  The first is to always be aware of the jewels of light and abundance within me.  When I feel down and dark about my life, I forget to focus on the precious jewels of abundance.  Placing energy on negative thoughts does not help me find the priceless jewel or the light.

The second lesson was to pass this gift onto my children and my family and friends.  The best way to do this, is through my actions.  When I am practising a light filled life, my children and family see this, and feel this, and so have a greater opportunity to find these jewels within themselves.

The more we identify with our hidden treasure, the more we become a well of peace, light and happiness to those around us.

45 thoughts on “Our Inner Jewel

  1. I like your phrase, “light filled life.” Light gives us the ability to physically see more that life offers. Precious objects, whether jewels or items of little monetary value that have passed from generation to generation, provide the sensory system with wonderful emotions. If we step back and realize that light and touch alone can have such profound positive impact on our lives, our ability to maneuver through dark days becomes less daunting.
    Another beautiful post.

  2. A little bit off topic but this reminded me of the things we (my siblings and I) are discovering about my mother as we sort through her things (she passed away in May). Those ‘jewels’ she never discussed with us are amazing! 🙂

  3. I find it rather significant that the jewel is discovered while performing the ordinary task of chopping wood and not on some great journey and quest. 🙂

  4. Having developed the filter that life was unfair, I found myself wondering if he was able to turn that around. In making up my happy ending to that story, he was filled with Light, had an epiphany, and started a blog and became part of a Light filled community on WP. Haha. Thank you for this story and the lessons, and for being such a Light filled person, living a Light filled life. Creditors could never take that away!!
    Blessings, Love and Light,
    Mary

  5. Karen,
    Great post. Especially you analogy at the end.
    Not knowing of his good fortune led him to a life of struggle. While we are in the midst of suffering we don’t see the value in bearing it well.
    Like a person who has a bad cavity. That person must go through the discomfort of the drill. But, then is overjoyed that the pain is gone. Suffering has preceded a good that is much appreciated.
    Our poor sole after suffering much must have appreciated greatly and in a different way his good fortune than if his mother had made it known to him before. For like the prodigal son, no one truly appreciates good fortune unless they first experience squalor .

    1. Wise words Alan. It is how we learn and appreciate life. I see so many parents give their children everything they need, which leaves them unable to experience the gift of working towards a goal and the appreciation of achieving and receiving it. It is a good lesson for us all. Thankyou.

  6. An uplifting story, and it too makes me think that to fret away about what was and what will be takes away from the now. To appreciate the gifts life will bring our way is a belief I try to hold onto as much as possible.

    1. I agree with you Randall. The more I live my life in that belief, the more I enjoy every step. It is a daily practice, but I can see, it is the only way to live fully. Thankyou and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

