Scarcity Mode

Scarcity of self-value, cannot be remedied by money, recognition, affection, attention or influence.   –   Gary Zukav

I dream a lot.  My dreams help me understand what is going on in my waking life and why, and also in the lives of the people around me.  It is a gift I am very grateful for.

Last night I had a significant dream.  I walked down to the bank of a river and noticed a few people lying around and talking.  I passed them and entered the water. As I began to submerge into the water, I saw a strong current ahead of me and realised it was going really fast.  Immediately I panicked, and looked for a way to safety.  Eventually I swam over to the bank of the river, where I found a rope and was able to pull myself out.

When I woke up, I realised immediately it was fear that stopped me.  Fear of flowing into the unknown and into the direction of the current.  It was significant, because in my waking life I have been holding back on a few issues, believing there wasn’t enough and that I wasn’t enough. I had forgotten to connect to my truth.

A scarcity mode is deeply rooted in our DNA from our upbringing, and from past experiences.  It keeps us focused on the wrong things.  It keeps us focused on the problems and the barriers, rather than on the opportunities and the solutions.

A scarcity mode keeps us trapped in fear, believing there is never enough time, love, money, food or attention.

Today I sat in my meditation and gave back.  I gave back this old belief from the past, and imagined myself letting go of the rope.  I felt immense freedom as I moved with the strong current.  It reminded me again, that when I believe I deserve abundance, the universe responds. I felt light as I travelled down the river, remembering to trust, there is always enough.

41 thoughts on “Scarcity Mode

  1. It is refreshing to see such personal honesty from a person that understands the importance of balance in life. Sharing one’s “weaknesses” displays great strength as one discovers the meaning of dreams and the methods to overcome their barriers. Transitioning from dreams to reality becomes easier and more rewarding with practice. We begin to look forward to each day excited to face new opportunities without fear of challenges that may accompany them.

    Your messages are always filled with such hope for the future. They are truly inspiring.

    1. Thankyou Jonathan. I appreciate your support and kind comment. I really am very grateful for my dreams and the messages they teach me. You are right, it is a practice and does become easier to understand over time.

  2. Such a powerful dream made so by your writing and analysis of why ~ letting go of the rope. I think once people get the feeling of what such “freedom” can bring, there is less fear in life. Still may like the most comfortable and secure lifestyle, but the knowledge that you can let go at any moment and things will be OK is a power to relish.

  3. Thank you for this reminder, Karen. I have many dreams too, though they seem less clear most times, I will give them a closer look because I agree there are clues there. Very glad you got back in the river.

  4. Beautifully captured Karen!
    On an other note, I downloaded a book about our dreams … And it was not as I expected at all. The author’s hypothesis was that most of the images relate to what the body is doing. I expect he may have said you were constipated 😉

    1. Ha ha, well there are definitely a million interpretations out there. At times, my dreams have been crazy and don’t seem to have any message. Next time, I will tune in to my body 🙂

  5. I like the art of letting go, feeling free of our “baggage” or how Life has weighed us down. This was a powerful and meaningful dream. One I hope will bless you and expand your horizons, too. 🙂 I hope to find my way since I am not lost but wandered off my path to find a new one.

    1. Thankyou for your comment. Sometimes we need time to digest the changes in our life. Challenges and diversions along our path make us rethink and balance our energy again. I hope you connect to your new path soon.

      1. I appreciate your words of comfort, rethinking and balancing my energy. I will try to use the words. I have tried two new things which may re-energize my life since it is work that gets me down. I joined a book club and senior center. 🙂

  6. I love this post, Karen. You are blessed indeed to have the gift of your dreams. I lost my dreams when I was 45 and had a hysterectomy. Like I birthed my dreams in my womb – or the anesthesia messed with the brain pathway of remembering them. Who knows. I do miss a rich dream life, though.
    My sense with yours is that there is a very strong part of you that took care of the part that was afraid. You took care of yourself, You let the part that still had some doubt and fear be rescued by the strong, independent part. It is good to have that part, so that the unsure part can feel safe enough to move forward, which she did. This would hold true in waking life as well.
    Thank you for sharing this dream. It really is very beautiful.
    Mary

    1. I can’t believe you lost your dreams Mary. I would imagine there is grieving process in losing your womb and your dreams. I love your interpretation of my dream, and I think there are many aspects of each one we have. My sister and I love bouncing off different understandings of our dreams. At times, we believe our dreams may have solved the world problems! Thankyou for all your beautiful comments, they mean a lot to me.

    1. Welcome back Emilie. A lot of people don’t remember their dreams, but I think thats because we all have different ways that the universe speaks to us. Tuning into what that is for us, helps us listen and understand our journey. Thankyou.

  7. Karen what a stunning dream, I don’t dream as much as I use too (I use to be called the dream queen in my house), maybe because I don’t sleep deep enough these days. Fear is placed early in our minds, I do agree. I guess we need to trust in the path that unfolds and dare to reach our highest peaks no matter how terrifying they might be. Comforting post, thank you.

  8. I especially appreciated your response to your recognition. “I gave back this old belief”. What feels important is that you didn’t stop at the recognition. This resonates with me right now. Thank you Karen.

Leave a Reply

