Signs in life…

I believe in signs….They are always there before us, we just have to look around with respect & attention to discover where spirit is leading us and to know which step to take next.   Paul Coelho – The Zahir

 How often do we miss vital signs that warn us in life? I believe signs guide my life, they always arrive in the perfect time and whisper, “Come this way”….  The example below by Paul Coelho, shows us how stubbornness and busyness, can block us from seeing and hearing the signs that may just save our life.

There was an old man who had a dream one night that he would be protected from a ravaging storm that would engulf his whole village.

The next day, as expected, a terrible storm came to his region. The first day a neighbor of his offered help for him to flee – help that he denied since he was sure God was going to help him.

The second day, when he had to take refuge in the second floor of his house given that the waters had taken over all of the first floor, a rescue team came to his house and offered him to get out of there – help that he again refused given that God had promised him to get out of there.

The third day came a helicopter to rescue him but he was adamant that God was going to save him.

Not long after he drowned and died. Once in heaven he complained to God: “why didn’t you help me as you promised?”

To which God replied: ” I sent your neighbor, a rescue squad and even a helicopter to which you simply declined!”

Signs are everywhere and when we are too busy to see them, we miss the messages that guide us to a deeper understanding and a clearer view of the path ahead.  Stillness and silence help me listen and see these signs.  They are not always loud or clear,  sometimes it can be a dream, so I need to be present and aware.

51 thoughts on “Signs in life…

    1. Well I might be wrong Eliza, it is based on a traditional story that Paul Coelho shares, but I am not sure if he is the author of it? Yes always meditation to hear the signs! 🙂

  1. Love the Oliver quote. I blogged about confirmations this morning before reading your post. I so agree, the signs are there, we just need to open our eyes to see them. Prayer helps my focus! Great post! Thanks!!

  2. Love the quote by Mary Oliver. Somehow the old song Signs just popped into my mind as well, everywhere there are signs and while that song was talking about something else, it still brings to mind that we need to pay attention and as you say we can do that by slowing down. Thank you!

  3. Spot on. How often are we caught up in daily trivial minutia causing us to lose touch and focus with life’s important lessons. We must teach ourselves to recognize when our minds begin to stray and calm down the abundance of activity with quiet relaxation. Only then, can we truly judge our reason and actions.

  4. Great book and author. This really rings true with me….it seems whenever I strike out and go bravely towards something, signs pop up along my path. It is up to us to cultivate the awareness of their presence. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    1. Thankyou Julie. Your comment means a lot to me. I just wanted to say, how much strength and commitment you have always shown along this journey with Anthony and Ming. I can imagine it is very difficult at times. Everyone has a story to share and in doing so, you allow others to feel connected and supported on their own path. Have a well earned break and I look forward to hearing from you later. 🙂

  5. Ow, I know that story very well. They taught us that in grade school in the Philippines. The moral lesson for us though goes with something like ….. God has mercy, but people has the action. It basically saying that people can’t just wait for some mercy or miracle to happen before they start acting.
    I just watched a movie Jeff, Who Lives At Home. I watched it on my way to Japan. It’s pretty much about a guy who followed signs thinking that it was his “calling”, that he needed to do something about the signs. Mediocre movie, but interesting. And I just think Jason Segel is cool as ice.

    1. It’s true Rommel, we do have to step out and do the work. Sounds like an interesting movie. I think we all feel the “call” at times and the only way to know if it is the right path is to try it. Thanks 🙂

  6. That is a good story about how we can be at times, not seeing the signs. It funny that this particular type of seeing has improved by age when I now need reading glasses 🙂

Leave a Reply

