5 Rules from Mrs Jones

Oh my friend it’s not what they take away from you that counts.  It’s what you do with what you have left. –  Hubert Humphrey.

Mrs Jones a 92-year-old lady, moved into a nursing home today.  Her husband of 70 years recently passed away.  After waiting in the lobby a nurse came by to announce that her room was ready.  As she maneuvered her walker to the elevator, the nurse provided a visual description of her room.  “I love it,” she said.  “But you haven’t seen it yet,” said the nurse.  “That doesn’t have anything to do with it” said Mrs Jones.

“Happiness is something you decide on ahead of time.  Whether I like my room or not, doesn’t depend on how the furniture is arranged, it’s how I arrange my mind.  I already decided to love it.  It’s a decision I make every morning when I wake up. I have a choice;  I can spend the day in bed recounting the difficulty I have with the parts of my body that no longer work, and dwell on the past and my regrets.  Or I can get out of bed every morning with a positive attitude and be thankful for everything that I do have.”

Five simple rules Mrs Jones lives by:

  1. Free your heart from hatred
  2. Free your mind from worries
  3. Live simply
  4. Give more
  5. Expect less

Mrs Jones definitely knows the secret to happiness!.  🙂

56 thoughts on “5 Rules from Mrs Jones

  1. I love Mrs. Jones’ advice. It reminds me of a saying I have on my bulletin board by Paramahansa Yogananda:
    Be as simple as you can be; you will be astonished to see how uncomplicated and happy your life can become.
    Wishing you, Karen, a beautiful day. ❤

  2. What a wonderful post. So very powerful! To connect this sentiment and practice it daily is challenging, but what a better world we would co-create if we all were able to put this into practice?

    Happy Tuesday, and thank you for this.

    1. Oh yes I’m sure this was a practice of many years! It is a choice for each of us daily and hopefully from this understanding we can all be the lovely Mrs Jones! ❤️❤️

  3. I think this is one of your bests. Advice to exercise now and definitely be reminded more as we age.

    Anyways …
    Technology has it now where blinds can wear a device that helps them visualize the surroundings and navigate easily.

      1. The video feels good to watch,eh? It shows such sense of humanity. Toyota had a bad rep with airbag failures before, but this is a big image rehabilitation for them. Be it for that, the objective is so much wonderful for those who will benefit from it. Technology is replacing humans capacity and ability, but technology like this is good technology.

  4. Karen I will take this one into this day and give it wings. My mother is very much like Mrs Jones, her positive vibe is infectious and I feel blessed to have a mum who has taught me similar life lessons to these. Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

