Life’s Mysteries

Image result for pictures of a mind full of music

 

A mind that is lively and enquiring, compassionate, curious, angry, full of music, full of feeling, is a mind full of possible poetry.   Mary Oliver

 

Truly, we live with mysteries too marvelous to be understood

How grass can be nourishing in the mouths of the lambs

How rivers and stones are forever in allegiance with gravity, while we ourselves dream of rising

How two hands touch and the bonds will never be broken

How people come, from delight or the scars of damage, to the comfort of a poem

Let me keep my distance, always, from those who think they have the answers

Let me keep company always with those who say, “Look!”and laugh in astonishment and bow their heads.

Mary Oliver

May we always be astonished at the mysteries of life.  May we open our eyes each day to see the miracle of life surrounding us.  May we stand in awe and breathe it all in.

28 thoughts on “Life’s Mysteries

  1. “Let me keep my distance, always, from those who think they have the answers

    Let me keep company always with those who say, “Look!”and laugh in astonishment and bow their heads.”

    Karen, these words shone for me. They are magnificent. Beautiful post – thank you.

  2. Oh, Mary Oliver is a favorite of mine! Thank you for the reminder not to BE one of those who thinks they have the answers, but always to be ready for awe:). Perfect time of year for that.

  3. This is a beautiful post and reminder, Karen. I am full of awe when I walk at the salt marsh – or anywhere in nature. And I love how M.O. offers such beautiful observations. I have become a real fan of hers lately 🙂

Leave a comment